Questions before I start My first boat (pirogue) | SouthernPaddler.com

Questions before I start My first boat (pirogue)

MyrtleBeachMike

Apr 26, 2012
I've wanted to do it for years and this is the year. Start small, learn and progress right lads? I've searched and decided that Uncle John's is the easiest affordable route to take. I'll probably go with his ribs just for simplicities sake this being my first time. I'm down here in Myrtle Beach where we've got the Intracoastal Waterway, Murrell's inlet, rivers and lakes; the pirogue seems to be the best first step. Besides My Darling Mallory (granddaughter), who's 10 is coming to visit and I thought this would be a fun project.
I've been reading as much as I can, I've some construction experience, framing and finishing, feel like I've got the tools. Never glassed anything and of course never built a boat, I'm up for it. Time to fish or cut bait. Anyway, here we go. I understand scarf joints but the prevailing opinion on this forum is that but joints are simpler and as strong. What is the best method regarding this, I'm a little unsure I understand the wiring/threading method. I'm considering the 15.5' model and I'd like to do 11" sides so 2 full sheets of plywood. 1/4" seems too thin to big guy like me (230#) but my old canoe wasn't any thicker. Is 3/8" really necessary for the bottom? I'm planning to add a little keel for tracking and in addition to the inwales, adding some ferring or molding in 4" increments down the sides as well as some form of stripping for decking, thoughts? I saw some Cedar at HD is that an advisable material for a boat?
Of course Home Depot/Lowes doesn't have a terrific selection of wood, the 1/4" oak looks nice, I've read about teak luan and others but I just don't think I'll find it here. Anyway, first boat, let's get it done. I'd like to stain it rather than paint it if I can. Does the stain go on after the epoxy/resin, can it penetrate?