dug out pirogue info | SouthernPaddler.com

dug out pirogue info

OLDMOSSBEARD

Dec 5, 2011
Northern Utah
First off this is my first post on this site. From what I have seen it is a great site. I have built four UJ pirogue's now and love to hunt out of them. I live in Northern Utah and the marshes that we have are perfect for this little boat. I have built a 12' and three 15'6" models. I have been working wood for the last 20 years and feel that I won't to take on a new challenge. Does anyone have any info about doing a one piece dug out pirogue? Any info would be great, as far as tree species, tools, finish ect. I was thinking abut using either cottonwood or pine for my tree trunk. Both are readily available to me. Thanks.
OLDMOSSBEARD.

seedtick

Jul 22, 2006
Denham Springs, LA
The thread Mike referred to pretty much covers what we do. We use cypress because it was what was used, it was readily available and the old growth trees lasted almost forever. Best I can find out, folks used whatever trees were available, some of the most rot prone species won't last as well, but you'll likely take better care of the boat than was taken years ago. Lewis and Clark, in their trek through the northwest made dugouts out of cottonwood. So it's certainly doable - of course they weren't looking for a long term boat. If it's available to you, i'd try something like doug fir -think it would last longer.